Skip to content ↓


Southbourne Junior School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We have a number of policies and procedures in place that contribute to our safeguarding commitment, including our Child Protection Policy which can be viewed in the Policies section of our website.

Sometimes we may need to share information and work in partnership with other agencies when there are concerns about a child's welfare. We will ensure that our concerns about our pupils are discussed with his/her parents/carers first unless we have reason to believe that such a move would be contrary to the child's welfare.

We actively support the Government's Prevent Agenda to counter radicalism and extremism.

Our designated safeguarding lead is Mrs Louise Gasser (Headteacher).

Our deputy designated safeguarding leads are Miss Karen Lowrey and Mr Dave Rock (Assistant Headteachers). Our Chair of Governors, Mr Nigel Bloodworth is our safeguarding governor.